Continuing Education Hours

Conference attendees can earn continuing education hours for certification purposes. MSSA typically applies for Continuing Education Hours (CEH) through the following:

  • Minnesota Board of Social Work
  • Minnesota Board of Executives for Long Term Services and Support
  • Minnesota Board of Marriage and Family Therapy
  • Minnesota Board of Psychology
  • Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health & Therapy
  • National Council on Family Relations
  • North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners
  • Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner (CPRP)

Clinical Content Areas 

Based on guidance from the Minnesota Board of Social Work to apply to the clinical content requirement for LICSWs, a CE activity must include one or more of the following six clinical content areas:

  • Differential diagnosis and biopsychosocial assessment, including normative development and psychopathology across the lifespan
  • Assessment-based clinical treatment planning with measurable goals
  • Clinical intervention methods informed by research and current standards of practice
  • Evaluation methodologies 
  • Social work values and ethics, including cultural context, diversity, and social policy 
  • Culturally specific clinical assessment and intervention


As of August 1, 2020, post-tests are no longer required. For more information on continuing education please visit the Minnesota Board of Social Work webpage.

Questions? Contact Sharon Hollister, MSSA's Director of Professional Development, at or by phone at 651.789.4331.