2017-2018 Regional Awards Nomination Deadlines



Outstanding Volunteer Service Award

The Outstanding Volunteer Service Award recognizes an individual for their outstanding volunteer service.

MSSA considers the following when selecting the Volunteer Service Award winner:

  • Consistently provides outstanding results through direct service to clients and agency
  • Demonstrates use of personal skills and experience to contribute to community service
  • Has made unique use of, or helped to create, community resources to effect change (i.e., people, programs, groups, media)
  • Participates in, promotes, and is/has been recognized for commitment to the human services
  • Nominees for this award must be volunteers (not paid staff) whose involvement evidences a significant contribution to clients, agency, and community

Click here to submit a nomination online. Please click here to download the nomination form as a Word Doc. Return forms to tmarchio@mnssa.org.

2017 Outstanding Volunteer Service Award Recipient: Mike Scanlan

MSSA is proud to recognize Mike Scanlan as the 2017 Outstanding Volunteer Award Recipient, which recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to their communities through volunteer service. Mr. Scanlan has been a dedicated volunteer for over 50 years and has used his skills to contribute to his community in a variety of roles. He has volunteered with North Memorial Hospital, Habitat for Humanity, and the Bass Creek Watershed District Commission. Mr. Scanlan volunteers with the Immigration in Collaboration Program with Lutheran Social Services, providing advocacy and direct support to refugees in Minnesota. He is also the head election judge for Hennepin County‚Äôs 4th precinct and supports families experiencing homelessness through the Families Moving Forward program at the Basilica of St. Mary. MSSA thanks Mr. Scanlan for his contributions to the community through volunteer service. Congratulations!

Mike Scanlan (right) with his nominator, Louise Kinzer

Past Recipients

  • Jim Nichols (2009)
  • Stan and JoAnn Holien (2010)
  • Gordon Schueller (2011)
  • Helen Olson and Stephen Hodder (2012)
  • Anna Smith (2015)
  • Rev. Paul Johnson (2016)