MSSA Diversity Scholarship

MSSA's core values and beliefs include social responsibility, equity, and inclusion, and we support policies that work towards racial justice and the elimination of disparities. The purpose of the MSSA Diversity Scholarship is to work toward the elimination of these disparities. We believe that supporting efforts to increase diversity within the health and human service profession is one important step to the reduction of disparities within this system and our diversity scholarships are intended to work toward this effort.

Award Amount and Number of Scholarships

Beginning in 2020, MSSA will award one (1) undergraduate diversity scholarship in the amount of $1,500 and one (1) graduate diversity scholarship in the amount of $2,500.

Application Timeline

November 1: Application period opens
January 15: Application period closes
February 15: Judging process completed
March 1: Scholarship winners announced

Diversity Scholarship Details

Eligibility Requirements

Only applications that meet all eligibility requirements will be reviewed.

  • To apply, applicants must be members of MSSA and must maintain active membership throughout the award period. Membership for students is free; more information can be found here.
  • Students must be enrolled in an accredited program at a nonprofit academic institution leading to a degree in a health and human service-related field. Common majors and Masters programs include, but are not limited to:
    • Social Work
    • Psychology
    • Counseling
    • Healthcare Services Administration
    • Criminal Justice
    • Human Development and Family Services
    • Sociology
    • Public Administration
  • The scholarship award recipient will be asked to submit verification of full-time enrollment for the fall semester. 
  • Preference is given to applicants planning to work in the Midwest—Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota or North Dakota. 
  • For the Undergraduate Scholarship and Undergraduate Diversity Scholarship, applicants must:
    • Be a junior or senior. 
    • Have declared a health and human service-related major. 
  • For the Graduate Scholarship and Graduate Diversity Scholarship, applicants must: 
    • Have applied to, or have been accepted into, an accredited graduate degree program. Payment of the award will be contingent on the full admission of the candidate into the program.

No content found

No content found

No content found

Congratulations to Anita Richardson, 2019-2020 Diversity Scholarship Winner!

Anita Richardson is an online student at Crown College. She is pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology and Counseling with a minor in Alcohol and Drug Counseling. She has a passion to bring reconciliation and support to families. She aspires to assist young women and men in attaining their goals in order for them to become stable and independent. 

Anita has served her community in many ways. She has assisted with developing a housing program for women with children and has helped her church in managing their outreach and business endeavors. For over 7 years, Anita served at MN Adult & Teen Challenge; this is where she acquired most of her hands-on knowledge and was loved and impacted by the leadership, employees, and participants alike. Currently, Anita offers outreach services to non-profits and small businesses. She also works at a local housing program that empowers individuals experiencing homelessness to achieve independence. 

Anita’s journey to pursue higher education has not come without its hardships. However, she has believed in both herself and those she serves. Anita continues to press forward in the area of service because she knows this is where she is needed the most. She is now in the last year of her undergraduate studies and is currently accepted and participating in an accelerated Master’s Degree Program, in counseling, at Crown College. She is looking forward to the many new opportunities that await her in the Human Services community, and it is with great honor and gratitude that she accepts the 2019 MSSA Diversity Scholarship award.